The Secret Underworld of Scrapbooking

Who would have thought??!!  So, I have dabbled in a little bit of scrapbooking here and there, especially once I got married and had a ton of wedding and honeymoon pictures with no where to put them.  But, did you know there is a complete, self-sustaining, day & night world of scapbooking out there?  You can be chatting with a group of girlfriends and mention this hobby and I guarantee someone will know of a “cropping party” nearby.

I didn’t even know these get-togethers existed!  A friend of mine from my local MOMS Club group invited me to an all day event last week.  We were so excited to go and i’m now even more thrilled to attend another one. This particular location in Irvine is open from 10:00 a.m. to midnight and they provide lots of tables and chairs, die-cut machines (I so do not have time to explain the tools!), paper, punches, and tons of sale items.  You can also start a tab in case you need to run into the store and buy materials for whatever you are working on.

Now, I was never intending to go the whole day, especially because I needed a babysitter.  But, I did end up staying for about 5 hours (that’s right – 5 hours!) and left with only 3 pages done.  I had such a great time.  We brought our own drinks and snacks and we talked about everything under the sun and shared tools and ideas.  Needless to say, I cannot wait for my next cropping party and this time I am prepared to stay a whole 6 hours!   

Compared to most the pros. in that room, I probably have about 5% of the tools they had and maybe a fraction of the experience but that doesn’t even matter because for those 5 hours I was free and it felt good!

Here are my time-consuming yet very appealing, blank layout pages – i’m so proud ;)

scrapbook-pages-2.jpg

scrapbook-pages-1.jpg

Posted in Fun

2 thoughts on “The Secret Underworld of Scrapbooking

Leave a Reply

